The link between your Local

and the Ohio Education Association

  • District Office
  • 129 Easton St. NE Suite 103
  •  Canton, Ohio  44721
  • 330-499-8587




At the Courtyard by Marriott Canton

4375 Metro Cir NW

North Canton, OH  44720


Summer Leadership is open to all ECOEA members and is designed to help our Local Leaders learn more about their role in the Association, to inform them about resources available for their Association, and to support them in their leadership roles. We encourage our Local Presidents to attend and bring along members to take advantage of all the workshops! Local Treasurers can attend one or both of the leveled OEA Treasurer training workshops.


Registration is open for the OEA Summer Academy which will be held at the Columbus Downtown Hilton August 4-6, 2014. This is an opportunity to strengthen skills through the schools of Communications, Collective Bargaining, Organizing, Political Action, Professional Advocacy, and Leadership. Visit the OEA site to register by clicking on the banner above or use this link:




Your ECOEA delegates to the NEA Representative Assembly are gathered in Denver to conduct the business of the Association from July 1-6. Delegates are Angela Stewart, Newcomerstown TA, Tracy Lemus Santos, Fairless EA, Anne Bowles, Karen Linch, and Robin Gonzalez from Wooster EA, Carol Kinsey, OEA-R, Ramona Moore and Allison Grimm from Lake Local EA, May Alayamini, Tamika Moss, and Michelle Martin Jones from Canton Professional EA, and Dan Campanaro and Val Heban from North Canton EA. 

ECOEA delegates to the NEA Representative Assembly Denver, Colorado, July 2014

ECOEA delegates to the NEA Representative Assembly Denver, Colorado, July 2014


SpringRA_2014-07_McDonaldPresident Angela Stewart kicked off the ECOEA 2014 Spring Representative Assembly by honoring Wayne JVS teacher Debra McDonald. Debra has been selected by the ODE as Ohio Teacher of the Year. Rep Assembly attendees heard Debra’s inspirational speech about looking for the teacher leaders in your life. ECOEA is very proud to call Debra one of their own!


Student Kaitlyn Bowman, daughter of Alberta Bowman of North Canton EA, receives her Quinn Educational Scholarship for Children of Members from ECOEA Business Manager Valerie Heban.  Kaitlyn is studying to become a school guidance counselor at Kent State University. Congratulations and good luck Kaitlyn!

Congratulations to Angela Hlad of Newcomerstown Teachers’ Association for being the winner of the Quinn Educational Scholarship for Members. Angela will receive a $500 scholarship to use as she continues her studies at Muskingum College. Angela’s name was drawn from all applicants at the ECOEA Executive Committee meeting in March.


Friend of Education 2013

Kathleen McKinley

Congratulations to the ECOEA Friend of Education for 2013. At the Fall Representative Assembly on Saturday, November 23, ECOEA honored Kathleen McKinley for her service to our members. A former teacher herself, Kathleen advocates for member rights throughout Northeast Ohio. As a managing partner in the law firm, Baasten, McKinley & Co., LPA, Kathleen has annually presented a legal update for ECOEA at their Fall Roundtable.  She is a published author of articles regarding teacher evaluation, Ohio Department of Education hearings, and teacher termination. She has represented OEA affiliates and members for the past 23 years.

The Friend of Education is chosen by the ECOEA Executive Board to recognize a person who has provided outstanding service to public education and the teaching profession. Congratulations Kathleen for all you do!



Congratulations to Debra J. McDonald, of Wayne County J.V. S. Education Association, for being selected as the Ohio Teacher of the Year. McDonald teaches in the Early Childhood Education and Care program at the Wayne County Schools Career Center in Smithville. She is a Master Teacher, a state advisory group member to the Ohio Resident Educator mentoring program, a member and licensure committee chair of the Ohio Educator Standards Board, and has served on an advisory panel for the development of OTES. ECOEA is proud to have the Ohio Teacher of the Year as one of our members. Congratulations!


ECOEA is one of the 10 District Associations
that make up the OEA network…
The district is made up of 62 local associations
in Stark, Wayne, Tuscarawas, Holmes,
Columbiana and Carroll Counties

* This structure assures that decisions are made by representatives from all parts of the state, as the delegates to the OEA Representative Assembly are elected yearly within each of the 10 OEA Districts at the Local Association level.

* About two thirds of the OEA Board of Directors members are elected from units withing the District Associations. ECOEA is comprised of three of these units.

* Each District Association also has a representative on each of the various OEA Committees.