In order to recognize ECOEA members who have contributed many years of service to ECOEA and the United Education Profession, nominations for a Leader of Distinction Award will be accepted in odd-numbered years. The following criteria will be used by the ECOEA Executive Committee to make a selection from the forms submitted:

            1 – Service to ECOEA

            2 – Service to other professional education associations (local, state, and national)

            3 – Service to other professional organizations

            4 – Other community service

            5 – Evidence of lifelong dedication to education


ECOEA has recognized the following members with this honor:

1995-Charter Class-William Quinn, Dolores Quinn, Doris Loria, Ruth McDowell, Charles Andrews, Ken Denholm

1997-David August

1999-Gerald Burlingame, Russell Chance

2001 Lola Franks, Linda McCowin

2005-Sally Smith, East Holmes TA

2011-Conni Ramser, Jackson MEA; Kathy Turning, Wooster EA; Chuck Riegler, North Canton EA; Judi Malinowski, Massillon EA; Mary Lee Handschumaker, Massillon EA; Kathy Green, Massillon EA;  Kathleen Purdy, Plain Local TA; Carol Kinsey, Canton PEA

2013-Valerie Heban, North Canton EA

2015-Angela Stewart, Newcomerstown TA; Ed Sims, Rittman EA 

2017-Anne Bowles, Wooster EA

2019-Roxann Long, Wooster EA; Janel Travis, Newcomerstown TA

The next Leader of Distinction will be awarded in 2021.